Home / Coega Development Corporation / Our People / Board Committee / Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Coega Development Corporation
Coega Special Economic Zone
Coega Services
Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Two non-executive directors make up the Human Resources and Remuneration Committee. The committee makes recommendations to the Board on matters including general staff policy, remuneration, bonuses, Directors’ fees, services contracts and other employee benefits.


Appointed: 2000 (HRRC Member); 2004 (HRRC Chairperson)

Jan de Bruyn was Chair of the Manufacturing Development Board of the dti since inception in 1993 until it closed down in 2017.

De Bruyn has served on, and in many cases chaired, the boards of leading South African corporates, including Algorax, Gencor, Hulett Aluminium and Saldanha Steel, as well as the Small Business Development Corporation (now Business Partners), the Council of the Technikon Witwatersrand (now part of the University of Johannesburg and the executive of the Afrikaans Handelsinstituut (AHI). He is also a trustee of the Asbesrus Relief Trust.


Appointed: 2000

Dr Paul Jourdan is an independent consultant on resource-based and spatial development strategies, working across several African states as well as for SADC, the AU and UNECA. As Deputy Director-General in charge of Special Projects at the dti, Jourdan was responsible for the establishment of the IDZ programme, with the Coega IDZ and CDC as pioneer projects. Later, as CEO of Mintek, he contributed to minerals beneficiation growth strategies, including the planning of the metallurgical cluster at Coega.

He is on the Board of the GGDA (Gauteng Growth and Development Agency), the CEO of MEMSA (Mining Equipment Manufacturers of South Africa) and a visiting Professor at Wits (SEBS; Development Economics).

Dr Jourdan holds a BSc in Geology and a BA in African Government from UCT; a Postgraduate Diploma in Exploration Geophysics from ITC (in the Netherlands) in Delft; an MSc in Mineral Economics, and MSc in Mineral Policy from Wits University; and a PhD in Politics from Leeds University.



Appointed: 2019

Dr Monde Mnyande is an Independent Consultant offering Strategic Advisory Services to key clients in the public and private sectors, both nationally and internationally. He currently serves as a member of the Eastern Cape Planning Commision and one of the Advisors to the Premier of the Eastern Cape. He is also a Council Member and Advisor at Gerson Lehrman Group (GLG), located in New York, USA.

Dr Mnyande was Chief Economist and Advisor to the Governor at the South African Reserve Bank from 2009 until 2012. He was a member of the Monetary Policy Committee, the Board of Directors of the South African Mint (Pty) Ltd and the Board of Directors of the South African Bank Note (Pty) Ltd. He chaired the Board of the South African Reserve Bank Captive Insurance Company Limited (SARBCIC). He is VIce President of the Economic Society of South Africa and a certified International Central Banking Professional.

He holds an MA (Finance) degree from Webster University in St. Louis, Missouri; an MBA degree from St. Louis University, as well as a PhD (Economics) from the New School University in New York.


Appointed: 2019

Nomonde Mtembu has worked at Tescor for 31 years in various positions such as Hydro plant Operator at First Falls and Collywobbles from 1987. When Eskom took over Tescor after the 1994 elections, she held various positions, such as an Operations Controller, Materials Requirement Planner (MRP) Controller and Special Projects. From 2013 until 2018, she was the Senior MRP Controller.

She holds a qualification in Labour Law from the Nelson Mandela University, a Higher Certificate in Economic Development from the University of Western Cape, a Diploma in Supply Chain Management from the Institution CS Holdings Midrand and a Certificate in Labour Studies from the Natal Technikon.

She is currently completing a Diploma in Human Resource Management from the Southern Business School.



Home | Media Centre | Newsletter | Tenders | Link | Contact us | Disclaimer | Copyright © 2020 Coega Development Corporation (Pty) Ltd
Useful Links »